The Horn of Gondor

I’m a huge fan of Dave Johnson’s very graphic and very simple philosophy of shot composition that highlights the play of light and the dominance of gesture.  I felt the death of Boromir was something that merited a very solemn image.

From the Gate of Kings the North Wind rides, and past the roaring falls;
And clear and cold about the tower its loud horn calls.
‘What news from the North, O mighty wind, do you bring to me today?
What news of Boromir the Bold? For he is long away.’

6 Comments on “The Horn of Gondor”

  1. Katsh says:

    ):

    In a good way, but still… ):

  2. Jad says:

    This was what you were working on while talking with EJ over skype? *sob* you should talk to EJ more…I like the cool compositiony-moody combo streak you’re on. Great piece.

  3. MiKO says:

    I’d hate to be at the recieving end of those arrows… THEY’RE HUGE! stupid Uruk… btw good job on the lighting dood, love the shot

  4. John Amor says:

    Thanks guys! And now I’m off to bed, LOL

  5. Jeffrey Tan says:

    huge arrows… orc arrows? O_o

  6. I like that you’re now doing narrative pieces, which I think you should do considering you’re doing comics work.

    I would love to see more of these and how you’ll interpret scenes from LOTR.

    NICE JOB BABYCAKES!


Leave a Reply

